There’s Still Time to Apply!

Want to be recognized as a top managed nonprofit?

Apply for the 2015 New York Community Trust Nonprofit Excellence Award for your chance to be recognized as one of the best-managed nonprofits in New York.

Don’t miss out.

The deadline to apply is May 1, 2015 at 10:00AM. You can find the application here. All 501(c)(3) nonprofits in New York City, Long Island and Westchester are encouraged to apply.

The prestigious awards also come with a total of $60,000 in cash prizes and scholarships for Columbia Business School Executive Education Programs in Social Enterprise.

Want more information about applying?  You have three opportunities to learn more:

Manhattan Application Clinic
Thursday, April 2, 2015, 10:00 am – 11:30 am
Baruch College School of Public Affairs, 135 E. 22nd Street, Room 301, New York, NY
Click here to register for this application clinic.

Bronx Application Clinic
Tuesday, April 7, 2015, 3:30 pm – 5:00 pm
Hostos Community College, 450 Grand Concourse, Hostos Café, C Building, Bronx, NY
Click here to register for this application clinic.

Application Q & A Conference Call
Wednesday, April 8, 2015, 12:00 pm – 1:00 pm
Click here to register for this conference call.

About the Awards Program:

Now in its ninth year, the Awards program is managed by the Nonprofit Coordinating Committee of New York, in partnership with The New York Community Trust and Philanthropy New York, and sponsored by WNYC.

The Awards program helps nonprofits improve their management practices in 8 key areas by providing free, tailored feedback on your management practices from experts in nonprofit management.

The following are the eight nationally-recognized key performance areas:

  1. Overall Management Focus on Results
  2. Governance Structure That Moves the Organization Forward
  3. Strong, Transparent and Accountable Financial Management
  4. Diversity and Culturally Competent Organizational Practices
  5. Enlightened Use of Human Resources
  6. Appropriate and Reliable Information Technology (IT) Systems
  7. Regular and Effective Communications and Use of Communications Technology
  8. Effective and Ethical Fundraising and Resource Development

More about the Nonprofit Excellence Awards, including the Awards’ guiding document, Eight Key Areas of Nonprofit Excellence; past winners, funders, and Selection Committee members, is available at

Contact Melkis Alvarez-Baez at with any questions.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s